It is not a good idea to flee the scene of an accident where you hit another car or person. This behavior is known as a hit-and-run, and in the state of Wisconsin, it is illegal. The AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety indicates that in approximately 11% of crashes that are reported to the authorities, one driver will leave the accident scene. There are many reasons why a driver flees. Often they are scared of what they have done and don’t want to face the repercussions. Other times they may be driving without a license, maybe they are drunk or on drugs, perhaps their insurance coverage isn’t up to snub and for all these reasons and more, there are hit-and-run drivers every day in the country. There are approximately 682,000 hit-and-run crashes each year since 2006.
What Are The Hit-And-Run Laws In Wisconsin?
Any driver in the state who is involved in an accident must stop. There are specific steps that drivers must take if there is a driver present in the other car. When a driver is present in the car affected, the driver of the offending vehicle must:
- Provide his or her information including name, address, registration number of the vehicle
- When requested, provide a driver’s license
- Provide aid or assistance to injured parties including calling an ambulance if one is both wanted and warranted
When a crash occurs with a vehicle that does not have a person present inside then the following must occur:
- Try to locate the owner of the vehicle to let him or her know that the accident occurred and provide the offending driver’s name and address
- When you can’t find the owner, leaving a written note that is visible on the automobile with the offending driver’s information and the details of the accident
There are penalties when one decides to leave a crash scene. The details relating to the crash are considered when penalties are dealt out.
- Misdemeanor charges when no party sustained injuries. Fines range from $300 to $1,000 and can come with up to six months in jail
- Injuries that aren’t severe enough to be considered of “great bodily harm,” a Class A misdemeanor will result and there are fines associated with this up to $10,000. There could also be jail time of up to nine months in prison added onto or in place of the fine.
- When severe injuries, or “great bodily harm” have occurred a Class E felony is charged. Fines are very high, up to $50,000 and the offending individual can be spending up to 15 years in prison.
Where Can You Find A Wisconsin Personal Injury Lawyer?
You have rights when you are hit by a negligent driver. The Janesville personal injury attorneys at the Alexander J. Smith Law Offices will help you see your full legal justice. You need an experienced, resourceful, and talented team on your side so that you can obtain the highest amount of compensation after your accident. The Wisconsin automobile accident attorneys at the Alexander J. Smith Law Offices have many years of providing legal representation for victims in Wisconsin and Illinois.
Call the Janesville hit-and-run accident injury lawyers at Alexander J. Smith Law Offices today to set up a free consultation at (608) 237-7035 for residents of Wisconsin or (815) 2439686 for residents of Illinois.